September 07, 2020
Another new attraction has opened to the public in the Mediterranean city of Alexandria – the Tea Hall of King Farouk. The hall is situated in the stunning garden of the royal Montazah Palace. The hall was previously an exclusive spot for members of the royal family and court to enjoy their afternoon refreshments. It has been closed since the revolution of 1952, making a comeback 84 years after its initial opening.
The Tea Hall was built in 1936 during the reign of King Farouk, the last king of Egypt, under the supervision of Mostafa Fahmy Pasha. The hall was inspired by Roman architecture and features ten marble statues, an open court with a marble fountain, and spectacular views of the sea within a royal ambiance.
The Tea Hall building has been registered as an antiquity site since 2010 and has undergone a series of renovations and restorations as part of the Ministry’s efforts to stimulate domestic and international tourism.